.

What Do You Think About Right-to-Work Legislation?

Post your views on the proposed right-to-work legislation by adding it to the Local Voices section of White Lake-Highland Patch.

Do you have an opinion on the proposed right-to-work legislation?

Then we would like you to let everyone know about it by sharing it on White Lake-Highland Patch.

All you need to do is add your opinion—it could be as short as a sentence or as long as a term paper—to our Local Voices section.

It’s quick and easy to do. Just click here to post your opinion.

Whether you are for or against the right-to-work bills, we would love for you to share your voice with the White Lake-Highland community.

laurell December 07, 2012 at 10:20 PM
It is a crock and he got elected saying that he would not take a stand on that.. Another lie
Douglas December 08, 2012 at 06:38 AM
I'm not originally from Michigan but moved here 19 years ago and it blows me away that there are states in this country where you are forced to join a union and forced to pay union dues. And the people here not only accept it but defend it? It's extortion pure and simple and is used, not to improve the working man/woman's position but to preserve an entire system of corruption and abuse. Truly unbelievable...
Richard Allan Starr December 08, 2012 at 04:08 PM
Look at the statistics. It's really the right to work for less.
Jo Anne McCulloch December 09, 2012 at 03:00 PM
This is something that should be left up to the citizens to decide. NOT the government.
Guenter Loepertz December 09, 2012 at 07:34 PM
I can see absolutely no reason why I should have to pay someone to have a job. That is extorsion. It has been said that those not unionized also get the benefits of the union. That is in part true, I have seen that while working at GM. It is for the most part false, be cause seeking services, eg doctor, dentist, etc, could no longer get appointments because the union benefits payed more for the services, than those of us who paid cash. 41 years selfemployed has given me many insights, especially union protection. What I saw in Lansing the past few day and probably in the next days, is nothing more than bullying, great ideas to show our children. Can't get your way, try to bully. It works for the union bosses who get rich off the workers dues. Guenter Loepertz Highland
John Holmes December 10, 2012 at 03:24 AM
the reps in lansing are "the people". Unions are the most corrupt entity in the USA. They really belong in the long-gone Soviet Union. Unions don't need protection like many of the sheep in this country believe. They need to be put in there place. Have you ever noticed how LAZY union members are? Ever see 4 road crew members; one slowley slugging along while the other three are watching? At $80-$90 hour to the tax payer......go ahead union baby's.....cry
Mark J Smith December 13, 2012 at 07:07 PM
I think it is great. Now just because you take of an elderly person at your home, you won't have to joint that damn SEIU and pay dues! About time Michigan became Right to Work, maybe now the unions will pay more attention to their members instead of all the graft and corruption at the top of union management.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »